Kevin Sizemore – Actor

Kevin Sizemore is a Christian actor in Hollywood with an impressive list of credits including the new television series Under the Dome. His first commercial was “Maxwell House Coffee”. His first notable television role was in the final season of Matlock. Other television credits include Prison Break, Without a Trace, 24, and NCIS.

Image

How did you get your first break in acting?

After graduating from college, I bounced around to a few different states and decided to go to Nashville for a weekend acting seminar (with no money of course). I decided to stick around town and actually slept in my car for a week in a hotel parking lot till I got an apartment. Every morning I would wake up around 6am, walk around the back side of the hotel and someone would always let me in.  I made sure to make small talk as we all walked together to “CHECK OUT” of our rooms!  As we all (my new found friends of 30seconds) walked out the front door, I would run back to the front desk acting like I forgot my wallet in the room. They gave me my key and I would shower and get cleaned up for the day.  That was probably my first co-star role…..ha.

My first real break as an actor actually did happen in Nashville, but commercially.  I auditioned for a Toyota commercial and that not only allowed me to join the Screen Actors Guild, but would give me financial security with residuals and that got me into Orlando and then out to CA.

What was the best piece of advice you learned from the Academy of Dramatic Arts?

When I studied at AADA in the summer of 95, I remembered we always had to make strong choices that no one would make, because a weak choice turns into a weak performance.

What do you feel is your greatest strength as an actor?

Maturity through life lessons! Taking my time and not rushing scenes.  I think the beauty in scenes are when nothing is said.  We are in a visual medium where we still have to talk of course, but we don’t have to talk to reveal to the viewer what we are doing…..they are smarter than that.  When my wife Gina Lombardi (www.ginalombardi.com ) and I had our son Gunnar, that just opened up feelings and emotions I never knew existed.  I’ve allowed that channel to be opened and can tap into those feelings at a moments notice. I like to just be in the moment and allow the scene to come naturally so the story can tell itself.  If you feel like you’re trying to make it real…….your acting!

Tell us about your role in the award winning short Useless.

That was such a surprising journey to be a part of.  My co-star Boo Arnold and I attend a men’s Bible Study together every week and he said a buddy Brandon Adams was directing a short project for a film festival. After meeting with the director and producer Dennis Bentivengo, I was offered the role. My character Evan was a guy who really wanted things to change in the world he lived in.  Evan knew there was an illegal traffic problem and girls were getting hurt and taken advantage of.  When Evan thought nothing was being done, he took matters into his own hands, and ended up killing someone who happened to be an undercover cop by accident.  After fleeing to Mexico, Evan comes home years later to meet the son of the man he killed face to face in a public restaurant to plead his forgiveness. You can watch the 10 minute film at www.uselessmovie.com

Image

What was your first response when you found out you’d won “Best Actor” at the 168 Film Festival?

I was actually holding the video camera in my hand recording my co-star Boo Arnold, who was also nominated in the same category.  When my name was called, it didn’t register that they called my name until my wife Gina screamed and took the camera out of my hand and kissed me!  Was it great winning the award and being noticed by your peers? You bet, but I’ve always had the mindset of being a team player and the best part of the night for me was that we won Best Film…..which means everyone wins and it shows we made a good film.  The film also won Best Cinematography.

Image
Can you tell us about Heartfall, your latest 168 film?

It’s a film directed by Joth Riggs and written by Joel Kilpatrick.  Our two leads are Gunnar Sizemore and Reagan Kilpatrick. Jenn Gotzon plays the adult character of Reagan’s younger Emily. Our cast is rounded out with Sue Wood  playing my wife & it’s a story of a young woman (Emily) who struggles to reconcile with her father (myself) after their family is ripped apart by tragedy.  When you only have 168 hours to tell a story, you need an amazing team and wonderful actors…..which we achieved!

 

Image

What was it like working with your son on a film?

If I said wonderful…..it would be an understatement!  Seeing him having the opportunity to do something that he really enjoys and is great at, while being able to share it with him is icing on the cake. I take so much pride in how professional he is and his willingness to learn everyday and try to get better.  He just wrapped the animation film The Prophet today w/ Selma Heyak and it’s neat to see him have the confidence he has while having fun doing it.  I don’t think I could’ve done that when I was that age.  www.imdb.me/gunnarsizemore

Image
What upcoming projects do you have?

On June 24th the Stephen King Sci-Fi series premier of Under The Dome on CBS airs. Under The Dome is about an invisible force field that descends upon a small town called Chester’s Mill and I recur on that show as Deputy Paul Randolph. (don’t make my appearance until ep. #2 on July 1st)  Deputy Randolph is a react first and think about consequences later type of a guy, which could get him into trouble if he doesn’t watch himself carefully.   The show is produced by Amblin Television and has a super cast led by Dean Norris (Breaking Bad).

Image

Later in that month I make an appearance on USA Networks Necessary Roughness w/ Callie Thorne and John Stamos. That episode was a perfect fit because it took place just after Under The Dome and ended the day before I had to start shooting Heartfall for the 168 Film Project.

July 23rd is the VOD release of RED LINE. THis film is about people from all walks of life who become  trapped 900′ under the streets of LA on the RED LINE Metro Train and then find out someone is trying to kill them. www.redlinethefilm.com Red Line is the film that casting director Beverly Holloway cast me in after seeing my performance in Useless. The film is directed by Rob Kirbyson, written by Tara Stone and produced by Yellow Line Studio. I had the opportunity to share the screen w/ some great actors including John Billingsley and Nicole Gale Anderson for a month in San Diego.  The poster below is the Red Line International poster in Japan w/ Kevin SIzemore and Nicole Gale Anderson.  They changed the name there to The Limit.

Image

A Christmas Tree Miracle will be released in November of 2013. In this film I portray David George.  David has everything a man could ever want…..great family, job, money etc, until the day he loses his job and can’t find another.  I co-star w/ Terry Kiser (Weekend At Bernie’s).  This film will resonate a lot with America, having gone through all we have and are going through.  It was first time I had the opportunity to shoot a movie in my home state of West Virginia and I sure hope it’s not my last!  It was directed by JW Myers & written by Ty DeMartino & produced by Route 40 Films & Flyover Films.

Image

I just saw the rough cut of my latest film Can I Get A Witness Protection that was written & directed by Christian comedian Robert G. Lee  and produced by Gold Pictures. This faith based ensemble cast comedy will be released in 2014 and it is very funny!  We need more comedic christian films!

Lastly, in between my crazy schedule, I’m producing a web-series Class Time that consists only of acting students from my weekly class. The reason I wanted to do this so badly, was so they could have the opportunity to get in front of the camera on live sets and learn the ropes, but also have great footage so they can use them to get jobs / agents.  It’s fun for me and it greatly benefits them….it’s a win- win all the way around!

Many opportunities have opened up for me over the last few years. I know it’s great to appreciate the blessings you have in life, but for me it’s more important to do the same to the blesser.  God has shown me the great and the not so great side of this business throughout the years. I am just so grateful he’s allowing my to do what I love to do and give audiences entertainment they can appreciate!

For more information on Kevin Sizemore: www.imdb.me/kevinsizemore

Follow Kevin on Twitter @kevinsizemore & FB @kevinsizemorepage

About sharonwilharm

Sharon Wilharm is a writer and filmmaker who helps spread the word about other Christian filmmakers with her Faith Flix blog. She and her husband have been making feature films for the past decade and are currently working on The Good Book, an evangelistic silent film. Their film Flowers for Fannie is available at Christian bookstores across the country as well as online on iTunes, Google Play, Christian Cinema, and ChristianBook.com.

Posted on June 9, 2013, in Actors, Filmmaking Folks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. An interesting interview, Kevin. See you in November.

  2. It was my privileged to meet Kevin that summer at AADA – he was and still is one of the kindest, most decent guys I’ve ever met. Watching his career grow has been a true joy – I can’t think of anyone who deserves it more. I look forward to all the great things that are inevitably in his future!

  3. Love that Kevin is living his dream and doing what he loves with people he loves and in a faith he loves. This world needs all the positive love we all can give. Telling stories through film is a great way to contribute! Way to go Kevin! I’m looking forward to seeing him on tv and in film. :) Love this family!

  4. I want to be like Kevin when i grow up.

  5. I always enjoy seeing Kevin get the attention he deserves. He has a wonderful family (parents and brother) and a beautiful wife and son, but I remember him as a 7th grade student at Princeton Junior High School – and how he kept me on my toes! I also remember taking him and my son to Tennessee and “losing” them for several hours! Paybacks Kevin. Always remember, there will be paybacks. May success ever be with you.

  1. Pingback: Kevin Sizemore - Stop Acting Workshop | Travel BanditTravel Bandit

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

