Jefferson Moore – Actor, Writer, Director, Producer

In 2003 Jefferson Moore and his wife Kelly formed Kelly’s Filmworks to write and produce movies that entertained and enlightened audiences. Since that time they’ve produced seven feature movies including “The Perfect Stranger”, “The Perfect Gift”, and the just released, “Pieces of Easter” (also known as “Backroads and Lilies”). 

Image

What led to your interest in filmmaking?

Several years of working in FRONT of the camera, mainly…seeing the process of how a script on a sheet of paper made its way to a big screen, and all that happened in between, fascinated me.

Have you had any acting or filmmaking training?

None. Zero. Nada on the formal training…I learned acting from watching Sylvester Stallone movies and filmmaking from Robert Rodriguez’ ’10 Minute Film School’.

How does your faith impact your films?

I guess the short answer is it keeps me from including things like curse words and graphic sex in my scripts – part of a greater charge I have in believing that good films can be made without these things. In a broader sense, my faith is probably responsible for being the prism all the characters I create are viewed through – how they live, how they love, how they are dealt with in terms of a perfect justice.

Image

How many faith-based films have you produced?

We really prefer to call them ‘independent films’ rather than ‘faith-based’ or ‘Christian’ or ‘religious’…these latter labels carry a bit of a stigma as red-flags for bad acting, bad scripts, and ham-fisted religiosity; plus, I believe you automatically lose HALF your potential audience (many times the very people you are trying to reach) when these labels are attached. Kelly and I produce independent films and those films are influenced by our belief in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Since 2005, we have produced seven feature films and a miniserial for television.

Of the movies that you’ve written, which character do you most connect with?

Definitely the character of Lincoln James from ‘Pieces of Easter’. I’m basically a shy person and a textbook example of an introvert who operates on the assumption that the best way to stay out of trouble is to just blend into the background. Also, like Lincoln, I hate talking about myself.

What is the greatest challenge of juggling the multiple roles of director, producer, and lead actor?

After doing it this way for so long, I don’t really consider them ‘multiple’ roles. When I’m on set, I’m one guy made up of all these things simultaneously…like Frankenstein’s Monster. Honestly, the greatest physical challenge I have on a movie shoot is remembering to eat (because I have so much to do) – I usually drop 10-20 pounds over the course, and by the end of filming, my costumes no longer fit.

Image

Of the many filmmaking roles that you play, which is your favorite?

Acting is my favorite. Deep down, I’m Walter Mitty. Acting is my ticket to ‘being someone else’. A close second is the writing part…there’s a real sense of accomplishment for me to start with a blank sheet of paper and end up with a screenplay.

What is your goal as a filmmaker?

To make stuff that people care about watching. For whatever reason they might have.

Do you have any upcoming movies in the works?

Our third and final ‘Perfect Stranger’ movie is releasing sometime this year; after that, we’re seriously considering a documentary as our next project. We have lots of script ideas for other movies, but unfortunately, we have to respect the viewing market…we can’t stay in business just doing pet projects.

Anything else?

www.piecesofeaster.com. Thanks.

Image

About sharonwilharm

Sharon Wilharm is a writer and filmmaker who helps spread the word about other Christian filmmakers with her Faith Flix blog. She and her husband have been making feature films for the past decade and are currently working on The Good Book, an evangelistic silent film. Their film Flowers for Fannie is available at Christian bookstores across the country as well as online on iTunes, Google Play, Christian Cinema, and ChristianBook.com.

Posted on April 29, 2013, in Actors, Directors, Filmmaking Folks, producers, writers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Thank you for making the films that you do. !

  2. Thank you for using your gift from God to speak His word. I am moved to tears watching the The Perfect Stranger and am feeling so humble, yet want to move mountains sharing God’s promise. Thank you, your wife and all believers that work to create, produce and distribute films that bring glory to our King. God Bless and we will pray for you.

  3. Hi, can you guys put up the movies with Jefferson Moore up on iTunes?

  4. Keith R. Myles, Sr.

    I just watched “The Perfect Stranger” on TBN and I, literally, could not leave the room until it was over! Being fortunate enough to take part in Chicagoland VBS films in the ’90′s and being involved in drama ministry since before that, I have always loved the ability to creatively reach the masses for God’s kingdom. This movie was written well, acted well and directed well. The outstanding production quality and the tremendous message reminded me of the wonderful things that the Lord used to deepen my walk with Him each day. It encouraged me to seek some creative ways to reach MY folks for Jesus!

  5. waiting for more of you and your wife’s work…thank you…thank God for you

  6. I found the Perfect Stranger while flipping through the channels one night and began watching it The movie was so beautifully written and was absolutely Biblically ACCURATE which is a hard thing to find these days! I was truly moved by the movie so much that I ordered The Perfect Stranger and Another Perfect Stranger online.I shared the movies with my husband and he was speechless! I shared them with my sister and she called me immediately after watching them and she kept saying was, “WOW, WOW”. Thank you for writing, producing and directing such powerful and moving films. May God bless you as you have blessed my entire family and scores of others i am sure by sharing God’s Word in such a beautiful way!!

  1. Pingback: Winners Announced for Faith Flix Favorites 2013 | faithflixfilms

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

